Judiciary advances DOBI nomination of Kobylowski

TRENTON –The Senate Judiciary Committee approved numerous nominations today, including several judicial reappointments and the head of the state’s Banking and Insurance Department.

Kenneth Kobylowski, acting commissioner of Banking and Insurance for 10 months, talked about what will be a huge undertaking for his department: the response to super storm Sandy, the state’s largest single claims issue.

“We are working to ensure all consumers are compensated fairly,” he said. In response to a question, he said that as of Nov. 30, there already had been 452,000 claims filed. “This storm is unprecedented in New Jersey.”

He said the office, in concert with legislative actions and administration initiatives, has during the past year reformed surplus lines laws, reduced turnaround times, and worked to improve the business climate for the two industries of banking and insurance.

Other nominations that were approved:


Tom Bernard, Motion Picture and Television Development Commission


Cathy Lynn Blumig, Fish and Game Council


Michael J. Bryan, CPA, Director of the Division of Taxation


Patricia Connaughton Burns, Wetlands Mitigation Council


Peter W. Carmel, New Jersey Commission on Spinal Cord Research



Jayne S. Carmody, New Jersey Historical Commission


Stuart C. Challoner, Tidelands Resource Council


Alvin Mark Cheslow, State Council on Developmental Disabilities


Joseph G. Demartino, Fish and Game Council


Yang Deng, Wetlands Mitigation Council



Philip J. Diberardino, Sr., Tidelands Resource Council


Michael Fernandez, New Jersey Historical Commission


Mark J. Fleming, Judge of the Superior Court of Mercer County


M. Elizabeth Gantert, Lake Hopatcong Commission


Roland A. Gehweiler, Jr., Boat Regulation Commission



Joseph A. Grabas, Tidelands Resource Council


Edward A. Jerejian, Judge of the Superior Court in Bergen County


Nelson C. Johnson, Judge of the Superior Court of Atlantic County


Robert Kiejdan, Tidelands Resource Council


Kenneth E. Kobylowski, Commissioner of the Department of Banking and Insurance



Leonard Mangiaracina, Boat Regulation Commission


Martha Maxwell-Doyle, Tidelands Resource Council


George M. McCarthy, Landscape Irrigation Contractors Examining Board


Stephen S. Moliver, Motion Picture and Television Development Commission


Robert C. Neff, Jr., Tidelands Resource Council




Angela Pantaleone, New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling


Robert L. Polifroni, Judge of the Superior Court in Bergen County


Michael Rhode, New Jersey Commission on Spinal Cord Research


Mary Pat Robbie, Tidelands Resource Council



David C. Roth, Wetlands Mitigation Council


Ken Scherer, Landscape Irrigation Contractors Examining Board


C. Brad Schoening, Tidelands Resource Council


Lloyd H. Tubman, Tidelands Resource Council



Richard Veit, New Jersey Historical Commission


Thomas C. Voltaggio, Tidelands Resource Council


Douglas K. Wolfson, Judge of the Superior Court in Middlesex County

"Since the print publication of this list, Christie, in his capacity as chairman of the Republican Governors Association, helped decisively turn the midterm elections in the Republicans' favor, which makes him a bit more influential than we initially gave him credit for, post-Bridgegate. So when your state governments do absolutely nothing for you for the next four years, be sure to thank him!"